Smurfs’ Village – Farmer Smurf upgrade

I recently downloaded the most recent update to Capcom’s Smurfs’ Village (now distributed by Beeline – a sub-brand of Capcom). The thing I was most interested in checking out was the Farmer Smurf upgrade.

The Farmer Smurf upgrade allows you to plant all your vacant garden spots with a selected crop. Believe me, this upgrade makes wasting time much more efficient.

The upgrade costs you 15 smurfberries I was disappointed to find out. Shortly after the upgrade was released, some people claimed to have got the upgrade for less, paying only the amount of smurfberries they had left. I’m not sure whether or not this is true, all I know is that I had 17 at the time I upgraded and it cost me the full 15. (I’m one of the cheapskates who refuses to pay for smurfberries – so I try to get the best value I can from the ones I do get).

Is it worth it? I think so. My village is at level 34 and I have about 65 or so garden beds – planting each bed one by one takes time and is slightly annoying. Now, I just have to tap on Farmer Smurf’s house, select “Plant all crops” and then select the crop I want as I normally would. When you select crops from the “Plant all crops” menu, the cost of each crop and the amount of gold and XP you get back is shown as a total. So if you want to plant all your garden beds with raspberries and you have 65 beds, it will cost you 65 gold coins and you will get back 65 x 8 XP = 520XP and 65 x 4 = 260 gold coins. (So you don’t get a bonus – you get exactly what you would have if you had planted each crop individually). The upgrade adds a weather vane to the top of Farmer Smurfs’ house.

One change I would like to see the developers make is to allow Farmer Smurf to harvest all withered crops. The Farmer Smurf “Harvest all crops” function doesn’t work when your crops have withered, and harvesting them individually is a bit of a pain. (Crops will wither in the same amount of time it takes them to grow – so if you don’t think you will get back to your device within twice the time it takes something to grow, plant something that takes longer).

This particular update also allows you to buy shrubs for 2500 gold coins. You can grow different crops on your shrubs and apparently these don’t wither. They do use one of your smurfs to tend to them whilst they are growing though. In terms of the cost of the crop and their return, they don’t really represent value. The crops take a long time to grow as well.

The update also adds some additional crops. There is a summer salad crop pack which you first need to purchase with 4000 gold coins (from the first build menu). You are then able to grow radishes, lettuces and green peppers (the peppers are only available at Level 37). There is also a Fruity Fun Pack which costs 20 smurfberries. It adds grapes, pineapples and cantaloupes. The irritating part is it costs 20 smurfberries. As I said earlier – I’m cheap – I’m not paying for smurfberries, so it will be a long time before I can save up the 20 I need to buy the pack. I read on the Smurfs’ Village Facebook page that one of Papa Smurf’s quests involves planting grapes (or other crops from the Fruity Fun Pack) - which is going to be impossible if you haven’t purchased the pack. It hasn’t happened to me yet, but I’m sure it will irritate me when it does – and what’s going to happen when I level up? Will it mean I can’t access the story for the new level? I’ll post once I know the answer. (Update – If this happens to you, I don’t think there is anything you can currently do about it. I read at mysmurfsvillage.com that if you have not bought the Fruity Fun Pack you should not be offered this quest. It appears that this is now a known bug that is to be fixed in a future update – see Papa Smurf “Plant Grapes” Quest Problem.)

I did experience some difficulties opening the Smurfs’ Village app after I had downloaded the update. I tried re-syncing and powering down which didn’t seem to do anything - but after trying to open it about 50 times it seemed to fix itself.

Let me know if this post helped you, or if you have any questions about Smurfs’ Village, ask it in comments and I will try to answer it.

I’ll try and make my next post about something a little more serious. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Smurfs’ Village – Farmer Smurf upgrade

  1. Belle says:

    I have the plant grapes quest now, and have leveled up, and cannot do Papa Smurf’s level up quests. I am stuck. Like you, I refuse to buy smurfberries, so it’s gonna be a long time before I can do anything different.

    • themib23 says:

      Hi Belle, I read somewhere that the grapes quest problem is a glitch in the programming. (I’ll try and find the link and update my post). Apparently you should only get that quest if you have bought smurfberries. The programmers reckon they are going to try and fix it in the next update – but I don’t know when that is. If I find out, I’ll post it back here.

  2. themib23 says:

    Your only hope is that Jokey Smurf is very generous very often! I;ve had the app for about 9 months and think I’ve probably only received maybe 5 free smurfberries in that time? You could also try adding friends – you get a smurfberry for that – it’s not a way I’ve chosen to go though.

  3. Andy. says:

    Yeah i was stuck cause i couldnt find a summer salad crop pack and this helped find it. Also im cheap too (and have better things to spend money on) and i was hoping it didnt cost smurfberries..

  4. themib23 says:

    Thanks for the feedback. Let me know if you’re stuck on anything else and I’ll try and help!

  5. Donna says:

    Ive had the plant grapes request for about 3 weeks and I don’t buy smurfberries either. Probably won’t use them when I have 20. I just keep planting and playing the silly games…I do like the mine….and harvesting to get my XP. wish they would update so you can use gold to buy smurfberries. I won’t pay cash for this game to keep going.

  6. Leanne says:

    Hi There, just wondering how to install the update? Would love the new farmer smurf!! My itunes just says already downloaded & wont let me redo it… I have tried resyncing, turning on & off etc ….not sure what to do now.. Thanks

    • themib23 says:

      Hi Leanne, if your Smurfs Village app has the Farmer Smurf picture you should have the latest version – if you’ve got the picture of the smurf on the beach it’s the earlier version. If you have already bought Farmer Smurf you should be able to upgrade him by clicking on his house – you then should see the Plant all crops button and underneath you should be given the option to updgrade for 15 Smurfberries. Let me know if this helps.

  7. Pingback: Smurfs’ Village update 1.1.3 – Alchemist Smurf and Marco Smurf | Life, the universe and almost everything

  8. Tammy says:

    Thanks for the great info, I couldn’t figure out why I wasn’t getting the great bonus from farmer smurf. Now, I know why! Lol

    • themib23 says:

      Thanks Tammy. Another tip with Farmer Smurf, is to move his house around when you are harvesting, that way you get the bonus with more crops. It takes a bit more time to do – but if you are trying to level up quickly or raise more coins, it can be a good way to go. If you are going to do this though, don’t press “Harvest all crops”, because once you’ve done that, everything will get harvested.

Leave a Reply

